First sewing project attempt – Part 1: Sanae Ishida’s Origami Pillow

More than a month after receiving a Brother JX2517 from my mother in law for Christmas, today I finally found the time/initiative to sit down and attempt my first project. I chose the Origami Pillow from Sanae Ishida’s Sewing Happiness (pic is from Sanae’s blog):

origamipillowishida

More than a month after receiving a Brother JX2517 from my mother in law for Christmas, today I finally found the time/initiative to sit down and attempt my first project. I chose the Origami Pillow from Sanae Ishida’s Sewing Happiness (pic is from Sanae’s blog):

Things I learned while starting the project:

  • Steam ironing > dry ironing
  • Or, don’t dry the cloth all the way after washing to get at the wrinkles better
  • There is not enough space on my sewing table to easily iron fabric longer than a yard
  • There is not enough space on my sewing table to easily measure and cut fabric longer than a yard
  • The floor is a brilliant place to execute ironing/measuring/cutting
  • I really need a rotary cutter
  • My sewing supplies are in dire need of organization
  • My toddler really has to be out of the house when I attempt any of the above (even though the rhythmic hum of the sewing machine is a huge hit)
  • Sewing a straight line is effin’ hard

As of the writing of this post, there are three somewhat squarish pieces of cut fabric on my sewing table while I gather my strength for the next round.

One comment

Leave a comment